April Review – only half a month late

I stuck with my goal of 500 miles in 2017. The problem was, I was sick until the end of February. I actually went to the doctor after we moved the week of January 21st. I had bronchitis bad and was sick for another month or so after that. It was one of those fun “I’m better thanks to the antibiotics, but I’m still coughing because I jacked up my lungs.”

Anyway, I hit April having only ran 19 miles. I kept telling myself I could still make my goal. I said (jokingly and more than once) that I’d just have to train for a marathon. I was joking but it put the bug in my ear.

The problem with running a marathon was that I could only think of Cowtown near by, and I didn’t want to deal with the weather. Cowtown is in February and has been snowed out.

So I did some looking around for a fall marathon (train in the summer, recover when it’s cold), thinking I wouldn’t find anything close. Hello there, Fort Worth Marathon. This one is in November. It’s absolutely perfect!

So here I am. Marathon training.

I’m going to try to keep this to April. I ran a mile April 10th and then made all these drastic decisions. So official training started April the 12th. I chose to run Hal Higdon’s Novice II program (I have since switched to Novice I), and made up my own pre-training until the program started (I have since switched to Novice Supreme which includes pre-training).

I ran 20.2 miles in April, ending the month with 39/500.

About anestinthemaking

Hi! I'm Kristi! I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a friend. I'm a newbie to sewing and blogging, but I'm excited to get started! Sewing is the first hobby I've really had in a long time. In high school, I sang, I played the piano, I played in the band, I wrote in journals. I went off to college, got married, started a family, and lived a life without hobbies. How boring?! Then I started reading blogs. One thing led to another and soon I was at my co-worker's house borrowing her sewing machine! I haven't looked back since! Sewing is a release for me. It's so much fun to create beautiful and useful things. It's fun to be learning something new, and it's fun to share it with you! So welcome! Take a look around, and let me know you're here! I love to meet people and respond to every message I get! And I can't wait to meet you!

Posted on May 16, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave Me Some Love!

