2017

New years mean new goals, right? My friend (and my son’s PE teacher) jokingly asked me to run 1000 miles with her in 2017. I said sure. That comes out to a little less than 3 miles a day. Of course it was January 4th-ish when I said this so I had already lost some time. Then it got cold (icy). Then I got sick. Then I got thinking.

In 2015 I ran 201.9 miles.
In 2016 I ran 297.2 miles.
In 2017 I think I will run 1000?

2015 was the year I was injured. I started running in June of that year and stopped in October when I got hurt.
2016 I didn’t start running until May. I ran steadily through November when I’m going to guess it got cold (I’m such a baby).

If I intend to run all of 2017 (except the really cold days) then it makes sense to jump a few hundred from my partial years of running.

So with all that being said, my goal for 2017 is 500 miles.

It will be a challenge because I can’t just stop and still meet my goal. I have to be consistent. It’s approx 1.5 miles/day, 10 miles/week, or 30 miles per month. The break down like that look easy, but it’s keeping it up all year that will be the real struggle for me.

As far as training goes, I have been trying to do my MAF training BUT I don’t think it’s working right. I think you need to be regularly training to see results in that and I am not at all. I will be the first to admit that I will not run with the kids if it is below 40 degrees. I also may choose not to run when it’s in the 40s because that’s just too darn cold and I don’t like being cold. I would usually at least have my Saturday long runs (as long as it’s not icy) but with the move and the farm I don’t have childcare for long runs. (Note: I’m kidding about “childcare.” Of course my husband watches the kids all the time, because he is a parent not a babysitter. I just mean that he has things to do on the farm and I don’t feel right leaving him to watch the kids when there is so much to do that can’t be done while watching a 2 year old dare devil.) Back to the point, I may be taking full weeks off at a time when it gets cold again. Instead of stressing that I’m not seeing results when I am admittedly not willing to do the work, I will just wait until spring to begin really working on my aerobic base. Summer brings it’s own problems with having all 3 kids home and not being able to run until after bedtime. For that reason, I will probably not do MAF training in the summer either. That gives me spring and fall to work on real MAF training and my aerobic base, and winter and summer to just run for fun (or for whatever plan I choose to run for). I feel good about this. It gives me flexibility during the seasons I really need it, and also helps me from getting burnt out at the constant slowness.

So today I ran 3 miles. My HR was really high. I’m going to keep tracking it because data! But I don’t know that I’ll really do anything with it when I’m not doing the MAF training. So I need to re-train my mind to stop saying “woah that is a high HR!” when I look at it because “yes! It is a high HR! Because I wasn’t trying to run with a low one!”

So that gives me 7.3 out of 500 for 2017. Only 492.3 to go!

About anestinthemaking

Hi! I'm Kristi! I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a friend. I'm a newbie to sewing and blogging, but I'm excited to get started! Sewing is the first hobby I've really had in a long time. In high school, I sang, I played the piano, I played in the band, I wrote in journals. I went off to college, got married, started a family, and lived a life without hobbies. How boring?! Then I started reading blogs. One thing led to another and soon I was at my co-worker's house borrowing her sewing machine! I haven't looked back since! Sewing is a release for me. It's so much fun to create beautiful and useful things. It's fun to be learning something new, and it's fun to share it with you! So welcome! Take a look around, and let me know you're here! I love to meet people and respond to every message I get! And I can't wait to meet you!

Posted on January 12, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave Me Some Love!

