Heart Rate Training – Week 10

Monday 11/7 – Planned easy run of 40 minutes. 5 Minute warm up at 1-2 heart rate, 30 minutes work at 1-2 heart rate, 5 minute cool down at 1-2 heart rate.
I skipped my run due to rain all day. I caught up on BBG by finishing Week 2 Full Body.

Tuesday 11/8 – Planned medium run of 40 minutes. 5 Minute warm up at 1-2 heart rate, 30 minutes work at 3 heart rate, 5 minute cool down at 1-2 heart rate and BBG. Completed 3.06 miles at 13:46 (Warm up 13:26, Work 13:10, Cool down 17:59).
The rain lately has been insane. I was unable to run in the morning or at pickup time because there was so much rain. I did get my run in later, after hubby got home. For some reason, my times were way faster than Saturday. I don’t know if I was more into it, or the temperature made a difference, or what happened. I assumed it would be slower because I was running in light rain, after working out that morning, on hilly terrain. Apparently that was not the case.
I did BBG earlier in the day. It was legs and cardio day and I decided to give it a try staying below my MAF HR.  I did have to stop frequently to let my HR get down, but I feel like it was better than going high. Of course, I read in his book today that HR doesn’t really count on strength type exercises and that they should be considered anaerobic no matter what. So I’m not sure what I’m going to do.

Wednesday 11/9 – Planned easy run of 40 minutes. 5 Minute warm up at 1-2 heart rate, 30 minutes work at 1-2 heart rate, 5 minute cool down at 1-2 heart rate.  Completed 2.37 miles at 17:18 (Warm up 16:29, Work 17:15, Cool down 18:51). I walked/ran off and on. I was pushing the stroller which makes me slower, but I don’t want to just make these easy days walks. I need to start pushing myself a littler harder to actually run some.

Thursday 11/10 – Planned medium run of 40 minutes. 5 Minute warm up at 1-2 heart rate, 30 minutes work at 3 heart rate, 5 minute cool down at 1-2 heart rate and BBG. Completed 2.83 miles at 13:35 (wu 13:52, work 13:15, cd 16:57). I was getting ready for a birthday party here at the house so I didn’t get to run until the evening. The run felt good. I did end up racing a dog at the end. I mean that literally, I wasn’t being chased. I sprinted up a hill close to my house. According to Polar my max speed on that sprint was 5:45. What?! I don’t know that I have ever ran that fast before in my life! It was super fun, although probably detrimental to my MAF training.

Friday 11/12 – Planned rest.

Saturday 11/13 – Planned long run of 1 hr 5 min. 10 Minute warm up at 1-2 heart rate, 50 minutes work at 3 heart rate (MAF), 5 minute cool down at 1-2 heart rate, and BBG.  Completed 5.30 miles at 13:10 (wu 13:47, work 12:26, cd 18:07).
I decided to increase the HR for my long run after speaking with someone from the Maffetone website. I asked if it was necessary to be running 3x a week at a speed lower than my maximum aerobic HR. His short response was no. So I increased the HR on my “long” run and went out. I made it to the end of the next street when I had to run home for a potty break. Take 2 took me the rest of the way. About a mile out I stopped because my foot was sore. I dropped a laundry basket on my big toe a few days ago and it hit just right. The point where that toe meets everything else (official science term) in my foot is where it was hurting. After some prodding and adjusting I was able to keep going. One the way back I took a short break to talk to a farmer about purchasing a cow. That’s mom life for you – always multi tasking.
BBG done.

Sunday 11/14 – Planned rest.

Week 10: 13.6 miles

 

And now for some more musings.

After my long run on Saturday I felt great. Granted, I was exhausted later,  but the actual mechanics of the run were flawless. So of course I wonder, why? You are “supposed” to do long runs slower than your regular runs. Lower heart rate = longer distance. So why did I feel incredible after doing mine faster?
I think the answer lies in the definition of “long run.” Now, 5 miles Saturday was most certainly my longest run of the week. It was probably my longest run since my race, to be honest. Possibly my longest run in a year outside of races. BUT, is 5 miles really a “long run” for me? And I think the answer now is no. I can run 5 miles, easily, at a higher heart rate. I could have kept going. I wasn’t tired. I wasn’t really struggling to keep my HR that low. I was in no way “pushing myself” on distance or time. So 65 minutes is no longer a long run for me.

This gives me options.

  1. Do I want to increase the distance/time of my long run? I would do this incrimentally, basically increasing by 5-10 minutes a week (at max aerobic HR), until things got difficult. This would be the beginning of actual “long” runs. At that point I would switch to a lower HR and continue to increase my long run time/distance.
  2. Do I want to scrap the idea of a long run? I would basically stop calling this a long run and change nothing. heh.
  3. Do I want to up the time substantially and cut the HR? This is my least favorite idea because it seems dangerous (opens the door to injury). I would basically add 30 minutes + to my run time and drop the HR back to zone 1-2. I have ran 13.1 miles before, so this works off the assumption that 13 miles is my “long run” distance – but I’m not sure that’s accurate. ha. So this idea is out.

I have 2 weeks to decide what I want to do and honestly it may just depend on the week and what we have going on. I am not training for anything right now, so there is no need to push the mileage. My husband and I have decided we would like to run 5ks in 2017 so there really isn’t even a drive to be half marathon ready by any point. I did tell a friend that I would run a marathon with her, but that is sometime in the next 4 years. So what do I want (without race plans clouding my judgement)? I just don’t know.

I want to be fast. But unforunately, I drank the MAF koolaide and will not be adding in speed work. MAF training does lead to speed so I don’t want to do anything to sabotage that. So if I can’t do speed work and I can’t do fast 5ks, that doesn’t leave a lot of options for Saturdays. I can do a medium run without the stroller (woo hoo!) or I can do a longer run. I think at this point I will work on

I can keep my weekly runs as they are for the most part. I will probably designate one of the low HR runs as a walk on the recommendation of the reply I got from the Maffetone website. They suggested one long walk a week for muscle repair and recovery. I’ll keep my 2 medium runs as-is. I think I will take my 2nd low HR run and increase the time. I don’t want to be running the same speed/distance every day. I believe that is what caused my injury in the first place. But if I stagger the distances I think I can avoid that.

So my week becomes:
1 walk
3 medium runs of different lengths (at least 2 different lengths)
1 long run (medium run for now, switching to long run at some point)

I like the idea of my long run progression. It gives me freedom to make decisions in the future since there are no goal distances. I will slowly increase the distance until I reach the point where I have to lower my HR to get farther. Then I will decide if I want to go farther or not. What point is that? 6 miles? 10 miles? 13 miles (not likely)? I’ll look at how far I’m going and see if that makes me feel good to run that distance every week. If not, I’ll drop the HR and go farther. If so, I’ll keep my medium run, but at that long distance (or varying distances up to that point). I’ll still have some gains as it gets easier and easier for me, but with no long distance race in my sights, there’s no reason to push the distance if I don’t want to.

And now I get to make the adjustments to my Polar.

I have a prediction. My mileage will stop progressing when it gets cold. Because I don’t like being cold. Ha

About anestinthemaking

Hi! I'm Kristi! I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a friend. I'm a newbie to sewing and blogging, but I'm excited to get started! Sewing is the first hobby I've really had in a long time. In high school, I sang, I played the piano, I played in the band, I wrote in journals. I went off to college, got married, started a family, and lived a life without hobbies. How boring?! Then I started reading blogs. One thing led to another and soon I was at my co-worker's house borrowing her sewing machine! I haven't looked back since! Sewing is a release for me. It's so much fun to create beautiful and useful things. It's fun to be learning something new, and it's fun to share it with you! So welcome! Take a look around, and let me know you're here! I love to meet people and respond to every message I get! And I can't wait to meet you!

Posted on November 15, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave Me Some Love!

