MAF musings

Right now I am doing MAF training (sorta):

Monday and Wednesday are recovery days. I keep my HR below 132 and run (or walk) for 40 minutes.
Tuesday and Thursday are medium days. I run in my MAF HR zone (below 151) for 40 minutes.
Saturday I do a long run with my HR below 132, or my MAF test with my HR below 151.
Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday I do BBG which gets my HR higher than my MAF.

Does BBG hurt me?

I’ve been tired lately after BBG. Really tired. I talked to my hubby about it but there are just so many variables.
I have increased my calories to about 2000/day but don’t watch macros or necessarily eat “well.” I eat sandwiches on white bread, for example.
I have increased my water intake to at least a gallon a day
I started BBG October 10th and started consistently running (post race) about the same time.

So…
Am I not eating enough or well enough?
Am I dehydrated?
Am I not sleeping enough?
Am I overtraining?
Am I still adjusting to my training?

I don’t know the answer and it’s frustrating me. I’m also not losing weight. I see the biggest difference in body appearance with increased water. (Note: When I say “weight” I mean perceived. It has more to do with the mirror than the scale. “Losing weight” is just easy to say and I know what I mean.)

I want to finish out BBG. I committed to it and I am doing it with friends. I don’t want to bail. That said, I worry that the increased heart rate my affect my MAF results. I think I will finish out this round. Week 13 will be January 15th. At that time, I think I will stop doing BBG for time. Instead, I will stick to the moves (for the sake of getting in my strength) but focus on keeping my HR in my MAF. If it gets too high I will pause until it goes lower. I wonder if I should start this now? I really don’t know.
Part of my desire to wait is that I am hoping to get books about the MAF method for Christmas. I could keep doing what I’m doing for now, then read the books, and then make a change. I have plenty of time. I’m 30 and I don’t have any pressing goals.

Part of me wants to alter BBG right now. I just worry that, having not read the books, I will be making under-informed changes that don’t accomplish what I think they will. I need to be patient and make changes gradually so that I can see what the difference is.

Another thing I would change January 15th is to begin the 2 week test. This is a very restricted diet change but only lasts 2 weeks. I could technically fit it in before Christmas but I think it would sabotage my work to go straight into the holidays afterwards. So January 15hs I drop the higher HR work (same exercises just lower HR throughout) and make the dietary changes. That would give me 10 more weeks to get sleeping/water consumption under control, and to rule out my exhaustion being a training adjustment thing. I think this seems the most logical.

I understand this post is rambling but as the title says, these are my current musings. This is what is on my mind this morning as I read articles on MAF and sip my coffee.

A final thought: I know there is nothing to be embarrassed about but it is humbling to see how weak my aerobic base is. I see people starting the test running 10 minute miles and it is “so slow and miserable” for them. My average pace on my 3 mile test was 14:04. My fastest was 13:54 and to be fair, I did spike above my MAF a few times each lap (hills, etc). I look forward to improving my aerobic base. I’m excited to see what my body can do. But it is humbling to start back at the beginning like this. I wonder how this happened to me. I wonder if it is something I never gained in the first place (very un-athletic in school) or if something specifically altered it (illnesses, transfusions, pregnancies/births, etc). There’s no point in figuring it out. I am where I am now. The good thing is that there is plenty of room to improve.

 

About anestinthemaking

Hi! I'm Kristi! I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a friend. I'm a newbie to sewing and blogging, but I'm excited to get started! Sewing is the first hobby I've really had in a long time. In high school, I sang, I played the piano, I played in the band, I wrote in journals. I went off to college, got married, started a family, and lived a life without hobbies. How boring?! Then I started reading blogs. One thing led to another and soon I was at my co-worker's house borrowing her sewing machine! I haven't looked back since! Sewing is a release for me. It's so much fun to create beautiful and useful things. It's fun to be learning something new, and it's fun to share it with you! So welcome! Take a look around, and let me know you're here! I love to meet people and respond to every message I get! And I can't wait to meet you!

Posted on November 6, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave Me Some Love!

