MAF Test – 11/5/16

11/5/16

11/5/16
1 13:53
2 14:04
3 14:15

This was my first attempt at a MAF test. I decided to do 3 miles instead of 5 because I have not been religious with my long runs lately. I didn’t want to burn out at the end and either not finish or be too slow. Hubby had the kids over at the park, so I couldn’t take too long.

I use zone 3 on my Polar M400 for the test. This puts my HR between 133 and 151. My maximum aerobic HR is 150 (180-30) I believe. I could be wrong but I figured that it was close enough. My logic is that I am running outside on varied terrain, and for that reason my HR will never be perfectly steady. I am not capable of sitting at 151 and holding steady. More often than not, if I hit 151 I will hit 152, and then my watch will chirp at me.

It was cold! It has been in the 70s when I run and the 80s/90s in the afternoon here. This morning it was 61, misty and humid. My programmed workout didn’t work (again), so I had to improvise. I walked 2 laps (0.5 miles) as my warm up and then got started.

After the first lap I took a short break to pee. I stopped right at 1 mile, walked to the bathroom, and then walked back to the loop to begin again. This lowered my HR and allowed me to run faster at the beginning of that mile.

It felt good. It felt slow at times but by mile 3 I was in my rhythm and not having to think about slowing down as often.

NOT MAF APPROVED: The end of mile 3 was on the back side of the loop (it is slightly bigger than 0.25 miles) and I ran hard back to my water bottle. It felt great. I regret nothing.

About anestinthemaking

Hi! I'm Kristi! I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a friend. I'm a newbie to sewing and blogging, but I'm excited to get started! Sewing is the first hobby I've really had in a long time. In high school, I sang, I played the piano, I played in the band, I wrote in journals. I went off to college, got married, started a family, and lived a life without hobbies. How boring?! Then I started reading blogs. One thing led to another and soon I was at my co-worker's house borrowing her sewing machine! I haven't looked back since! Sewing is a release for me. It's so much fun to create beautiful and useful things. It's fun to be learning something new, and it's fun to share it with you! So welcome! Take a look around, and let me know you're here! I love to meet people and respond to every message I get! And I can't wait to meet you!

Posted on November 5, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave Me Some Love!

