September in Review

I kinda want to sit down and compare every month and see how things changed. There wasn’t a lot of information to use for comparing yet, but I do hope to add this in to my blogging.

I haven’t been hiding, I just haven’t really been running. My last real post was 9/12-9/18. 919-9/25 was an easy/taper week and the race. 9/26-10/2 has been recovery, although I will be doing a long run today (10/1) to kick off my regular running schedule again. So there really hasn’t been much to report.

September was pretty crazy for me. I actually started heart rate training at the end of August but I held steady to it through September. In September I ran 65.6 miles in 17:02:51. My 2 training weeks I had a little less than 16 miles/week. Taper week had 7 and this week (recovery? lol) will have over 20 because it includes the race and today’s long run.

I feel pretty good about the process. I still hate being so slow. Some days it really gets me down. I wish I was faster, or that I was losing weight or something, ANYTHING to show me real progress. But I know it takes time. I do see some truth to the HR training claims, unfortunately it is not the flashy kind of evidence. I looked at my monthly mileage and I went up substantially in September.

October: 0.0 mi 0:00
September: 65.6 mi 17:02:51
August: 38.2 mi 8:36:47
July: 38.3 mi 8:18:33
June: 22.4 mi 4:13:07
May: 22.1 mi 4:43:34

Looking at the numbers only, I feel like I should be injured. heh. That is a HUGE increase in just a month. I have a theory as to why I’m not hurt. From what I’ve read, HR training keeps you from over-training because you aren’t pushing your HR all the time. Over the summer, I probably ran at a 5 every.single.run.  In September, I only had 2 runs/week with a high HR. I didn’t understand how this worked when I read it? Shouldn’t over-training (when you talk about injury) be dependent on feet hitting the ground? What does HR have to do with anything at all? I still don’t know. I wonder if it’s maybe recovery. So when you run hard every day, your muscles don’t have time to recover so you are more prone to injury, but when you HR train and you have hard days and easy days, your muscles get to relax and recover and heal on the easy days and so you avoid injury. That isn’t scientific in the least, just my musings. So anyway, even though I don’t have flashy proof that HR training is making me a better runner/athlete/whatever, I do have proof that there is “something” to this. My chiro confirms that my body looks great. Way better than it did this time last year when I was running:

Oct 2015 50.9 mi 10:42:13 12:37
Sep 2015 57.3 mi 13:39:46 14:19
Aug 2015 27.7 mi 6:39:55 14:26
Jul 2015 29.2 mi 6:57:45 14:18
Jun 2015 24.4 mi 6:17:01 15:26

The end of October is when I was truly injured so I suppose we are not there yet. Still, it’s awesome to hear that, as far as she can tell, I’m not heading in that direction.

The temp has changed this past week. My last long run was at 90ish degrees. The race started in the high 80s, I think. This morning I will start my run at 58 degrees. I’m interested to see how that changes things. Will I be faster? I hope so.

Ok, future month review posts will have more data and musings but I wanted to check in. The sun is rising and it’s time to hit October with a long run!

About anestinthemaking

Hi! I'm Kristi! I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a friend. I'm a newbie to sewing and blogging, but I'm excited to get started! Sewing is the first hobby I've really had in a long time. In high school, I sang, I played the piano, I played in the band, I wrote in journals. I went off to college, got married, started a family, and lived a life without hobbies. How boring?! Then I started reading blogs. One thing led to another and soon I was at my co-worker's house borrowing her sewing machine! I haven't looked back since! Sewing is a release for me. It's so much fun to create beautiful and useful things. It's fun to be learning something new, and it's fun to share it with you! So welcome! Take a look around, and let me know you're here! I love to meet people and respond to every message I get! And I can't wait to meet you!

Posted on October 1, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave Me Some Love!

