Heart Rate Training – Week 4

Monday 9/12/16 – Planned medium run of 40 minutes. 5 Minute warm up at 1-2 heart rate, 30 minutes work at 3 heart rate, 5 minute cool down at 1-2 heart rate. Completed 2.73 miles at 15:19 (Warm up 20:22, Work 13:59, Cool down 19:38). The run felt pretty good. My hip hurt and didn’t really loosen up much which was frustrating but I felt like I made progress with my HR.I was faster, for the most part, and I could tell I was pushing harder but my HR wasn’t going up. So I think this may be my first sign that things are getting better. Note: I’m not saying it’s all sunshine and roses now. I know I have a ways to go. But yay for a small victory and a happy “medium” run!

I have decided to walk the warm up and cool downs when I have the stroller. Basically, anytime I have the stroller and am not going over a HR level 2, I will walk. Hopefully, I will one day be able to run with the stroller with a lower heart rate, but for now this is efficient and helps me avoid some of the yo-yoing that bums me out.

I’ve been thinking a lot about my leg issue. I ran all summer, much harder than I am now, and never had a leg problem. The only time my leg did hurt was when I did hip pilates with my boot camp group. I stretched daily for a while and it got better, but it did hurt for a few weeks. I start running with the stroller again and suddenly I have pain again. So what changed? It’s possible I’m running more per week, but not so much that it would hurt so bad. I run more days but less miles because I’m not pushing my HR like I was before I got my monitor. The big difference is the stroller. Other differences that were pointed out were the temperature and time of day. During the summer I ran in 100+ degrees at 7pm and now I am running at 8am in 90 degrees (things are starting to cool off now). So there you go, it’s the temp, the time, or the stroller. The stroller seems the most likely culprit, unfortunately it is also the one I can’t do anything about.

After seeing Dr. Parker last week, I went out and bought a foam roller. I’ve been foam rolling once a day for 1 minute per leg section. I also stretch every morning first thing and I try to do it again during the day some time. I’d explain the stretches, but I have no idea what they’re called. Basically I do what Dr. Parker recommended for my IT band injury last year (glute stretches) and what my PT friend recommended for my hip pain this summer (hip stretches).

I followed up with Dr. Parker this morning and got great news! My glutes are not as tight as they were last week. In general I’m looser and have a greater range of motion. She said I look great! Unfortunately, I still hurt. BUT the good news is, I am not heading towards the injury I had last year. I have time to figure out the pain because my legs look fine. I did have more muscle tightness right around the upper part of my knee. I feel like that is mentioned in a video I watched about IT band and foam rolling, but I need to watch the video again to figure out exactly what they are saying. I’ve done so much reasearch lately it gets jumbled, but it was great to have some of my thoughts confirmed. The first being the muscle around the knee cap and the second being that the glute tightness/soreness is my gluteus medius. I thought it was, but since I know nothing about anatomy… but yay! I was right! Which also means that the articles I’ve been reading do apply to my issues because the muscles and areas I have issues with are the ones they are mentioning.  So I’m looking in the right directions and not getting any worse!

So going forward, I will be stretching and foam rolling daily. I will do my regular workouts this week, run twice (medium runs) next week and then have my half marathon on the 25th. I go back to see Dr. Parker on the 26th. After that I’ll probably take a few weeks off the hard workouts while I recover. So hopefully I will be feeling a little better when I get back to my regular running in October.

Tuesday 9/13 – Planned long run of 1 hr 5 min. 10 Minute warm up at 1-2 heart rate, 50 minutes work at 2 heart rate, 5 minute cool down at 1-2 heart rate.  Completed 3.7 miles at 16:55 (wu 17:07, work 16:41, cd 22:21). This is my interval day but I was so sore from BBG that I needed to take it easy. I thought I had it all figured out. Last week a 1-2 HR was a fast walk. So I could move my long run to today and make it a long fast walk. boom. Except… I’m getting better ya’ll! Not anything crazy, but I DEFINITELY saw progress today. I tried to walk it but my heart rate just kept getting too low. Even when I walked as fast as I could it wasn’t high enough. At first I tried to just run for a second to get my heart rate up (not worrying about running super slow) but the yo yoing was driving me insane so I decided to try a slow jog. It was sllllloooowwwww (look like a 16 min pace from the graph but it’s hard to tell) but it didn’t feel like it. It felt good and it was exciting to not be walking, even though the plan was to walk. ha! The best-laid plans… right?

I’m not exactly sure what I’ll do the rest of the week. It seems silly to do an easy run tomorrow after a relatively easy run today (even though it was a “long” run). I need to decide if I want to do a tempo run or my speed work without the stroller. I haven’t had the opportunity to do either so I want to both. I’m anxious to see what my pace is at the different levels, but I have to choose one. heh. Then I’ll probably do the other tomorrow and the easy run Thursday.

Wednesday 9/14 –  Planned tempo run of 45 minutes. 15 minute warm up at 1-2 heart rate, 13 minutes work at 3 heart rate, 12 minutes work at 4 heart rate, 5 minute cool down at 1-2 heart rate.Completed 3.24 miles at 16:01 (wu 18:51, lvl3 14:18, lvl 4 12:26, cd 19:08).Great run today! I went with the tempo run, savings my fastest run for Saturday. It was a really hard decision considering I taper next week. In the end I had a stressful morning and almost didn’t run. So I chose one and went with it. haha. I really felt great today. My warm up was a walk the whole way. I was on the phone with the hubs… multitasking for the win. My cool down was a slow walk because my heart rate wasn’t dropping very fast. Then again, it had a long way to go so that may not be a problem. I really don’t know how slow I should go. If the goal is to get my heart rate into the correct zone before the workout is over, then I failed. But I don’t know for sure that is the goal. It is so humbling to be slow but I think I am getting used to it. Today I felt like I was doing pretty well, but my times show I was still pretty slow. But it felt good and that’s what is important. I can’t wait until I get a chance to see what it looks like to run without the stroller but that will be a while.

I think I’m failing on nutrition still. According to Polar I burned 400 calories already today. I still have BBG to do later. I need to eat more.

I’m unsure how much it matters what day I do my strength work on. I need to find someone to ask. Right now I’m doing it on my easy run days or my rest days. Except that I switched things up this week so those are different days. If I do my strength on rest days, I never have a true rest day. If I do my strength on hard days, I’m doing 2 hard workouts on the same day. So… what’s better? I have no clue and I don’t know who to ask. Blargh.

Thursday 9/15 – Planned easy run of 40 minutes. 5 Minute warm up at 1-2 heart rate, 30 minutes work at 1-2 heart rate, 5 minute cool down at 1-2 heart rate.  Completed 2.32 miles at 17:28 (wu 16:47, work 17:18, cd 19:13). I think it is interesting that my warm up (walk) was faster than my work (run) but I understand it. I was able to run most of the time with my heart rate lower BUT a few times it did go up. I would have to walk slowly to lower my heart rate back down. Those slow walks probably affected my pace making it slower. My walk, on the other hand, was brisk with no need to slow down ever because my heart rate was in a good position. Those averages will get you. heh.

It’s interesting to me to look at my graph. I thought I ran it pretty steady. I was thrilled that I could actually run it and I felt like I finally had it down. Looking at the graph, my speed is so up and down it looks like I was running intervals. ha! I still consider the run a success and see progress. I ran more than I did last time I did an “easy” workout. I’m excited to see changes in such a short amount of time and I look forward to the time when there is NO yo-yoing because I can just run with a low heart rate.

More research done and I’ve made up my mind for my workouts. Of course I won’t be following my own plan this week but… whatever. So I will do my hard runs and BBG both on Tuesday and Thursdays (with an 11ish hour break in between). Monday and Wednesday will be my easy runs. Saturday will be my long run. Friday and Sunday are complete rest days. That gives me two strength workouts a week (I’ll choose whichever 2 of the 3 I want to) and I get to keep all of my runs. My rest days stay rest and I think that is the most important thing.

In other news, my husband is now coaching both my boys in baseball (2 different teams) so yea… looks like I’ll be spending most of my time at the fields.

Friday 9/16 – planned rest

I’m looking at recovery plans for after the half marathon. It looks like you should run the day after (easy run) and then after a week be back to normal. I’m not sure if I will have to recovery longer because I won’t really be prepared for the distance. We’ll have to play it by ear. I’m thinking maybe I can do 2 easy runs for my recovery week. So race Sunday, Monday do an easy recovery jog. Side note, I’ll have the stroller so easy is relative here. It will be “easy” for the HR zone, but not easy on my body necessarily. Perhaps I should plan on running in the afternoon but if we have baseball that may not be possible. I’ll do another easy run Wednesday. Then Saturday I’ll do my usual long run (1hr 5 min) and hop back on it. If I don’t feel right, I can always do a second recovery week. I need to do more research about doing my strength training. I will not do any on my taper week, but I’m not sure if it matters for recovery week. It wouldn’t hurt me to take 2 weeks off then get back in to it, but I just need to do some more research.

Saturday 9/17 – Planned interval run of 40 minutes. 15 minute warm up at 1-3 heart rate, 20 minutes of work (4x 3 minutes at 4-5 heart rate, 2 minutes at 3 heart rate), 5 minute cool down at 1-2 heart rate. Completed 3.93 miles at 12:33 (wu 12:38, fast 9:07, recover 15:04, fast 9:32, recover 18:10, fast 9:44, recover 18:35, fast 9:16, recover 16:31, cd 19:05). This didn’t go as well as I thought. Things lined up so that I was sprinting up hill nearly every time and I didn’t get the speed I had hoped for. I did it though. So all is good.

Sunday 9/18 – planned rest

 

About anestinthemaking

Hi! I'm Kristi! I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a friend. I'm a newbie to sewing and blogging, but I'm excited to get started! Sewing is the first hobby I've really had in a long time. In high school, I sang, I played the piano, I played in the band, I wrote in journals. I went off to college, got married, started a family, and lived a life without hobbies. How boring?! Then I started reading blogs. One thing led to another and soon I was at my co-worker's house borrowing her sewing machine! I haven't looked back since! Sewing is a release for me. It's so much fun to create beautiful and useful things. It's fun to be learning something new, and it's fun to share it with you! So welcome! Take a look around, and let me know you're here! I love to meet people and respond to every message I get! And I can't wait to meet you!

Posted on September 21, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave Me Some Love!

