What we ate: 2

I have a weird way of losing weight. It’s definitely not a diet plan you’ll see anywhere.

Want to know my secret?

I eat more!

America is such an overweight society. Over eating is extremely common. Convenience foods and huge portions all combine to make a culture of eating too much.

Because of this, we are taught very early that to lose weight you must eat less. Period. It’s so engrained in my mind, that I had so much trouble even when I knew I wasn’t eating enough. How could I possibly eat more!?

Let me explain.

Growing up, we didn’t have a lot of snack foods around. We ate great meals, but I never consider snaking something you do regularly.

When I moved out, money was tight (of course). I also didn’t know much about cooking. So I ate crap for meals (hello Ramen), skipped breakfast, and didn’t eat any snacks.

My body was starving and I had no idea.

When I started researching ways to lose weight, I looked at calorie counting. I really didn’t want to do it, but I was already running regularly so I needed to try something different.

The first time I logged my meals I was shocked. I didn’t eat enough!

I tracked for a few days without trying to change anything, and found out I was not eating enough to sustain my body WITHOUT working out!

When you don’t eat enough, your body goes in to starvation mode. Every bit of food that comes in is hoarded so that your body can use it later. You’re not going to lose weight that way.

I started eating more (although not necessarily better) and started losing weight immediately.

I still fall into that trap. I’m not used to snacking and I’m just now learning to really cook. I struggle to eat enough, and I struggle not to cut back our food when we start getting a little fluffier.

Hopefully now that I am staying home, I will be able to overcome my snack aversion and get us on a healthier road!

So what did I eat today?

For breakfast I had my waffles and coffee again. I also ate 4 sausage balls. I made a batch of these yesterday to keep on hand. Yum!

I had some grapes when Braden had breakfast and a mug of my homemade broth a little later.

For lunch, we had leftover squash spaghetti. I finished off the chicken salad in another tortilla wrap. Yum!

For my snack, I had some granola and milk.

We had a treat for dinner! Fresh caught catfish with a lemon-cilantro-butter-wine sauce! We finished off the rest of the squash too.

Once again I ate too many cake balls, but the good news is that they’re gone now. Lol

After writing all if this, I guess I was hungry!

I did my morning workout no problem. This evening was a little rough. The second time through I stopped after the jumping jacks. My left ankle, knee and hip have been achy this afternoon. I blame the toddler who plays a little too rough with his fragile mommy! Haha! Still, I did something.

Now to relax with the last of our champagne. Happy Wednesday to everyone!

About anestinthemaking

Hi! I'm Kristi! I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a friend. I'm a newbie to sewing and blogging, but I'm excited to get started! Sewing is the first hobby I've really had in a long time. In high school, I sang, I played the piano, I played in the band, I wrote in journals. I went off to college, got married, started a family, and lived a life without hobbies. How boring?! Then I started reading blogs. One thing led to another and soon I was at my co-worker's house borrowing her sewing machine! I haven't looked back since! Sewing is a release for me. It's so much fun to create beautiful and useful things. It's fun to be learning something new, and it's fun to share it with you! So welcome! Take a look around, and let me know you're here! I love to meet people and respond to every message I get! And I can't wait to meet you!

Posted on August 1, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave Me Some Love!

