A Whole New Ballgame

Good morning! It’s 8:30 and I have been up for two hours. I nursed the baby, got the big boy up, helped the hubby get ready for work, and sent the two of them out the door. I folded laundry, swept the kitchen, and started the dishwasher (which I thought I did last night). Now I’m on the couch nursing the little man again.

This is the season of my life right now, and I couldn’t be happier. The house is decently clean, the family I fed, and I no longer feel like I’m struggling to keep my head above water. I had such a hard time providing basic needs for my family at the end of this pregnancy, and it’s nice that my life has leveled off.

We’re getting closer to our new normal.

My toddler seems happier and we’re spending more quality time together. We play and run errands and do all I those normal things I haven’t been able to do for a few months.

Things with the husband are better than ever. Life has really calmed down and I think we’ve both had the opportunity to take a breath. He doesn’t have to do as much housework because I am able. This frees up his home time for homework. Which frees up his night times for sleep! The house is cleaner and it just feels like a happier place.

So what do I do, other than clean? Right now, not much. I nurse and watch YouTube videos all day to be honest.

I am in recovery mode. It has been 4 weeks since my c-section. I feel great, but I easily over-exert myself. Mondays have become “recovery days” after the weekend!

In two more weeks, my toddler will stop going to daycare. What an adjustment that will be! I’m excited and nervous. I know this is all part of good changes in my life.

I named this blog “A Nest In The Making,” and primarily I have done sewing posts. I don’t sew much at all right now, so this morning I questioned whether this blog was still me.

Making a nest isn’t just about decorating and crafty things (although that was my thought behind the title). There’s so much more to a happy home.

There are the kids, of course. I hesitate to write much about them. I’m not hiding anything, but I do not have any desire to become a “parenting” blog. I also want to limit their web presence at least a little bit (I’m not sure to what degree). They will get mentions, but will rarely be my focus.

Blogs are selfish in nature. The author writes about her life/projects/cooking/family/thoughts/beliefs. This blog is no different. I want to write about me and my life and making my home.

I’d like to continue to share my sewing and crafting. I’d like to share my cleaning and organizing. I’d like to share my cooking. I’d like to share my random musings on being a wife, mom and homemaker.

I am living my dream and I want to share the ups and downs of it.

In the short term, I want to share my weight loss journey. I know it will be difficult balancing this new life and getting in shape. I want to use this blog for accountability. You, whoever you are, will be part of my motivation. I don’t want to have to tell you I skipped something! I go to the doctor in two weeks and should be cleared for exercise. This particular journey starts then.

I think I have rambled enough for one day. It feels good to get the many thoughts in my head out. So I will sit here nursing my sweet baby and hope you all have a blessed day.

About anestinthemaking

Hi! I'm Kristi! I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a friend. I'm a newbie to sewing and blogging, but I'm excited to get started! Sewing is the first hobby I've really had in a long time. In high school, I sang, I played the piano, I played in the band, I wrote in journals. I went off to college, got married, started a family, and lived a life without hobbies. How boring?! Then I started reading blogs. One thing led to another and soon I was at my co-worker's house borrowing her sewing machine! I haven't looked back since! Sewing is a release for me. It's so much fun to create beautiful and useful things. It's fun to be learning something new, and it's fun to share it with you! So welcome! Take a look around, and let me know you're here! I love to meet people and respond to every message I get! And I can't wait to meet you!

Posted on July 3, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave Me Some Love!

