A New Years Goal (or 20)

Happy New Years!

I’m not big on resolutions. I feel like they’re meant to be broken. That’s probably not fair, but it’s definitely my experience. That’s not to say I on’t want to grow this year. And, of course, I have to have some sort of plan. Someone might call these resolutions… but that someone is not me!

I was doing some blog hopping over the weekend and stumbled upon an interesting idea. I wish I could remember where it was, but I was on my phone and I can’t for the life of me find the site again. If you know, please tell me so I can give credit!

The writer was talking about how she sets goals for the new year. She comes up with 20 goals to accomplish in the next year. It’s more of a year long process than a get-this-done-asap-so-I-can-avoid-personal-growth-for-the-rest-of-the-year thing. She also recommends that you spread these goals across multiple genres. Is that the right word? I couldn’t think of a better one… hopefully you know what I mean. In the spirit of trying new things, I figured I’d give it a whirl.

So now what? I’m not about to dive in to 20 different tasks all at once and stress myself out before the weekend! The author suggested you select 5 key tasks each month. You write these in your planner and then elaborate with smaller steps to accomplish your goals.

Then each day you choose 3 key things (from the month’s list)  you HAVE to do. That way, every day you accomplish 3 things that work towards your new years resolutions <cross out> goals!

A key point to these lists is that they are changable. For example, I have already made a change to mine. The day after I came up with my goals list, we decided that we would not be selling our house afterall. If that is the case, I don’t need to accomplish “move” or “sell house” this year. Instead, we will be paying off the second mortgage on our house, so that we will be in a better financial position to move in the future. So I had to make some changes only 12 short hours into 2012! HA!

But you know what? That’s ok! I didn’t fail. I just changed the plan!

This year, I intend to keep coming back to this list. Don’t expect a daily update (lol) but I’ll let you know what I’m working on and how it’s going.

What about you? Did you set resolutions goals for the new year?

Kristi

About anestinthemaking

Hi! I'm Kristi! I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a friend. I'm a newbie to sewing and blogging, but I'm excited to get started! Sewing is the first hobby I've really had in a long time. In high school, I sang, I played the piano, I played in the band, I wrote in journals. I went off to college, got married, started a family, and lived a life without hobbies. How boring?! Then I started reading blogs. One thing led to another and soon I was at my co-worker's house borrowing her sewing machine! I haven't looked back since! Sewing is a release for me. It's so much fun to create beautiful and useful things. It's fun to be learning something new, and it's fun to share it with you! So welcome! Take a look around, and let me know you're here! I love to meet people and respond to every message I get! And I can't wait to meet you!

Posted on January 2, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave Me Some Love!

