31 Days of Running {Day 1}

Day 1 was a… success!

Woo hoo! Only 30 days to go!

Do any of you have a good friend you run with? I’m lucky that I have two.

My best friend came over this afternoon to run with me. She’s just getting started as well, and it’s so nice to have her to run with. I love my silent runs by myself, but I also really appreciate the time I spend with her. It’s my girl time. My time to chit-chat and catch up and be silly (or crazy…). We run. We walk. We sweat. We bond.

I haven’t run with my other friend in a few weeks. Apparently, she thinks getting married and jetting off to Belize for her honeymoon is more important than running around the neighborhood with me! Ha! (Just kidding girl! Congratulations again!)

Anyway, our intent was to go out for 3 miles. They ended up running a little late so we cut it short. We had to get back before the roast was done! So we cut it to 2 miles. This is a route she hadn’t done before. We ran the first half mile and then took our first walking break. Well, we got to talking about budgeting (a dangerous topic for two accountants) and before I knew it we were home – without any more runs. Oh well. We did walk fast, and I’m sure getting out and doing something is better than nothing. What makes me laugh is that our pace was actually faster than when we typically run/walk. I guess without pushing ourselves to run we were able to walk faster for the duration. Interesting.

Anyway, that’s day #1. Of course, for running I think Saturdays are almost a cheat day. Tomorrow shouldn’t be a huge deal either. Day #3, aka Monday, will be the deciding day! Can I actually do this? Haha!

See you all tomorrow for an update!

Kristi

Day 1 – 2 miles

About anestinthemaking

Hi! I'm Kristi! I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a friend. I'm a newbie to sewing and blogging, but I'm excited to get started! Sewing is the first hobby I've really had in a long time. In high school, I sang, I played the piano, I played in the band, I wrote in journals. I went off to college, got married, started a family, and lived a life without hobbies. How boring?! Then I started reading blogs. One thing led to another and soon I was at my co-worker's house borrowing her sewing machine! I haven't looked back since! Sewing is a release for me. It's so much fun to create beautiful and useful things. It's fun to be learning something new, and it's fun to share it with you! So welcome! Take a look around, and let me know you're here! I love to meet people and respond to every message I get! And I can't wait to meet you!

Posted on October 1, 2011, in 31 Days. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hi Kristi,

    I love the new look for your blog! Good for you for choosing running as your “31.” Even if you just ran a little and walked too, it’s still awesome exercise.

    Keep up the good work.

    ~Heidi

  2. Thanks Heidi! I finally had some time (thank you long nap time) to look at it. I wasn’t happy with it before. It was a little too boring… not enough me. And then when I made my button, all the bright colors really looked goofy! So here we are! I’m glad you like it!

    How’s the knitting coming along? I just found out a girl I work with knits. She made an awesome baby blanket for her boss.

    ~Kristi

  3. Congratulations!!! I’ve heard it gets easier to run over time!! I will be here cheering you on!!

    • I’m sure hoping so! It always has in the past. This isn’t my first time to start running. Really, I don’t know why I always quit. I love running and starting up is the hardest part!
      Thanks for the encouragement!
      ~Kristi

  1. Pingback: 31 Days « A Nest in the Making

Leave Me Some Love!

