A New Way to Menu Plan

I’m no good at meal planning. There’s tons of things that go wrong and I just don’t handle it well.

1)      Tuesday’s meal makes enough for leftovers. Now I’m stuck. Do I skip Wednesday? Do I push back Wednesday?  Do I push back all of them, but then that throws off the future weeks I planned and the groceries for Wednesday will inevitably go bad. Or do I keep the leftovers in the fridge until they go bad?

2)      Wednesday’s meal is supposed to be leftovers from Tuesday, but there’s not enough. Now what? We can push up each meal a night, but then what do we eat Sunday? Or do I need to buy groceries early? Or will we just end up eating canned beans with a fork that night?

3)      Something comes up Thursday night. We aren’t home for dinner. See #1 for my freak out.

4)      We were supposed to eat at a friend’s house Friday, but they cancelled at the last minute. See #2 for my freak out.

5)      Tak #1-#4 and put them in the same week! We’re wasting tons of food and money here! And I’m more stressed out than if I didn’t have a plan!

Do you see my problem here? I think it’s the calendar, or the schedule. It just throws me off. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE a schedule… but I was thinking the other night this might be a good place for a list.

What if, instead of scheduling my meals, I made a list of the meals I want to have in the order I want to have them. Yes, I get this is pretty much the same thing but follow me here.

So we go from this:

To this:

See what I did there? It’s so simple, but in my head it’s so pivotal! So Thursday night we have fried rice again… that’s not a problem. We eat the meal until it’s gone, and then I make the next.

If the end of the week comes and we stopped at Breaded Chicken… that becomes the top of my list for next week.

I know this isn’t really original. Everything I’m talking about here is part of other menu plan systems. The thing that makes the difference for me is taking away the day association. I’m going to eat these meals, in this order. If other things come up, I know where to pick back up.

That’s it!

 Kristi

What, you were expecting something more profound?  Hehe!

*linking up at*
A Bowl Full of Lemons
52 weeks
Delightful Order
Serenity Now

About anestinthemaking

Hi! I'm Kristi! I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a friend. I'm a newbie to sewing and blogging, but I'm excited to get started! Sewing is the first hobby I've really had in a long time. In high school, I sang, I played the piano, I played in the band, I wrote in journals. I went off to college, got married, started a family, and lived a life without hobbies. How boring?! Then I started reading blogs. One thing led to another and soon I was at my co-worker's house borrowing her sewing machine! I haven't looked back since! Sewing is a release for me. It's so much fun to create beautiful and useful things. It's fun to be learning something new, and it's fun to share it with you! So welcome! Take a look around, and let me know you're here! I love to meet people and respond to every message I get! And I can't wait to meet you!

Posted on September 21, 2011, in Meal Planning. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Beautiful! Check out Orgjunkie on Facebook – she is asking for stumbling blocks in menu planning.

    My biggest issue used to be perfection. If I spent the time to get everything down on paper, I wanted my plan to be perfect!

    LifeAsMom.com said that menu planning should be a tool to use so I kind of do what you do, but yous aid it better than I could have.

  2. Thanks. I just sent Laura an e-mail about it. I linked up to her 52 weeks, but didn’t think about linking up to her Menu Planning posts. hehe.
    I know it’s becoming cliche, but try to let go of your perfection. That’s what was getting me too. It was the fact that I made a plan, and if we didn’t follow that plan I failed. Which is sooooo not realistic! So I would beat myself up about it and just quit menu planning.
    I’m glad you’ve found a system that works for you. I’m even more glad your system is a lot like mine! I wasn’t sure if anyone would “get” this or just say “Kristi, that’s just a list.” haha!
    Thanks so much for stopping by!

  1. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday – What We Really Ate « A Nest in the Making

Leave Me Some Love!

