It’s Random Man!!!

Do you think I could do meal-planning? I mean seriously?

I know I’ve done posts and posts on it (oops! Did I just confess to falling off that wagon?), but do you think I really could? I think a lot has to do with cooking ahead. For example, I cooked lots of carrots… and now I have lots of carrots in the freezer… for months!

If I planned meals, I’d use the carrots.

I went to the grocery store Sunday. We were out of food. No eggs, no bread, no veggies, very little meat, no soups, nothing. Apparently family emergency followed by a week at the beach do not add up to an organized/useful kitchen!

So I bought veggies (corn and green beans). I bought potatoes. I bought cream of chicken & cream of mushroom soups. I bought eggs. I bought onions. And now I’m cooking again.

Sunday night we had baked potatoes. I sliced them and put garlic/olive oil on them before “baking” them in the microwave. The recipe called for sliced garlic and I had diced (minced?). I think next time I’ll use fresh so I can slice it, but it was still pretty good.

I don’t know what to call last night’s dinner. I used pre-cooked frozen rice, a can of diced tomatoes, a can of black beans, a chicken breast, a red onion and some garlic. I mixed the garlic/onion/tomatoes and poured it on top of the chicken to cook. Then I zapped the beans & rice. I layered them all pretty on the plate – but the leftovers were all mixed together and I think they were even better (something about the juices maybe?)! My hubby and I had these for lunch today and the little man had it for dinner. Success!

Tonight I’m going to make chicken fried rice. I’ll make a ton of it so that we can have it for lunch and what not. It looks pretty easy and I’ve never made it before, so we’ll see.

Friday I plan on making breakfast sandwiches for the family. I have to wait until Friday because I need cheese, sausage and foil and my food envelope is empty.

Anyway, I want to be a good steward of my money. We’ve been living off barely any groceries lately. I scrape together what I can, but it’s a little ridiculous. The money that I save goes to fast food – there’s some logic for you! So I’m vowing to be better about it, and I’m thinking that meal planning could help. I’m also thinking I’ve tried that it didn’t work I quit (yes, ran together like that, with no punctuation).

things to ponder…

Anyway, I dont’ have a ton of time to take on a new challenge right now. I’m still working Christmas presents (I have a tutorial half-done for y’all!), and we just re-organized our office. I’m also trying to get a handle on my cleaning because August my house turned into a junk yard. My plants are still alive, but I’m not sure how because I’m not watering them. I’m not running. I’m not reading my bible at night. And I’m not waking up on time in the morning.

Sounds like a great time for a new project, yea?

*sigh* I’ll figure it out. Anyway, I’m here. I’m working on a tutorial for you. And I’m semi-contemplating meal planning again.

 

 

 

Ooo! Another thought! I need to work on cleaning, and getting my days right, and getting things done, and cooking. Maybe I should blog about that. Instead of trying to come up with projects, or craft time, maybe I should do what needs to be done and talk about how I do it. I have a great money-tracking system I use! I have great routines (which I’m not currently doing) that have worked great for me! Maybe I could combine my need-to with my want-to, and get back to blogging?

About anestinthemaking

Hi! I'm Kristi! I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a friend. I'm a newbie to sewing and blogging, but I'm excited to get started! Sewing is the first hobby I've really had in a long time. In high school, I sang, I played the piano, I played in the band, I wrote in journals. I went off to college, got married, started a family, and lived a life without hobbies. How boring?! Then I started reading blogs. One thing led to another and soon I was at my co-worker's house borrowing her sewing machine! I haven't looked back since! Sewing is a release for me. It's so much fun to create beautiful and useful things. It's fun to be learning something new, and it's fun to share it with you! So welcome! Take a look around, and let me know you're here! I love to meet people and respond to every message I get! And I can't wait to meet you!

Posted on September 20, 2011, in maintenance, Meal Planning, Personal. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi Kristi,

    That sounds a lot like my life right now too! My husband works full time and is in grad school. Since school started (I’m a teacher) life has been so hectic. I’m hoping things will settle soon. I have been knitting though! Sometimes it’s the only relaxing thing I do all day.

    I’m trying to get my most basic things done in my routine. It does not always happen but, I’m doing what I can.

    Hang in there!

    ~Heidi

Leave Me Some Love!

