Rain Rain! Go Away!

Well, they say when it rains, it pours. And no, I’m not talking about water from the sky – that would be much appreciated right now with the drought we’re in.

Yesterday our house was broken in to. Thank God they only took the tv. They did destroy the pretty front door, and so we spent hours last night purchasing a new one and installing it (door+frame+molding=tiring). All in all, it could have been much worse. It happened during the day when nobody was home, and as near as we can tell (so far) nothing else was taken. well, that’s not entirely true. They did take the U-Verse remote. They were nice enough to leave us the remote that goes with the tv though. So thoughtful. But seriously, you should’ve heard my rant yesterday about them taking the wrong remote. Silly silly criminals.

Anyway, I came home early from work when Derek called me. I grabbed his car and went to pick up Braden from the daycare. I get him loaded up in the car, have a seat, seat belt on, key in ignition, turning, and… nothing. Yep. Car won’t start. Braden’s teacher’s husband came out and helped us try to jump it. The battery was fine. Derek came over (after screwing the front door in place to keep it closed) to look. Turns out the connection on the battery is loose, so it’s not a huge thing. Just a washer and it will be ok.

So anyway, that was my day in a nut shell. House broken into, tv gone, pretty door destroyed, car won’t start… on the plus side, we are heading off on vacation next week so that’s one thing I have to look forward to! Also, I have a friend who lives close by who’s going to drive by after work every day and check on the house.

Times like these remind me of the blessings we have. We’re blessed with family who was able to drop everything and come by to help us fix the door. We’re blessed with a daycare provider who is willing to help. That’s twice in 2 weeks she has kept Braden past her closing time without charging us. The first was last Friday when the {same} car broke down at the gas station. Then last night when Derek got home and couldn’t leave the house to go get Braden. She is such a blessing to us and I am so grateful for her. We’re also blessed with great friends who can come by and check on the house for us while we’re gone. She volunteered without us asking, and while it’s probably unnecessary, it does make me feel a little better. We’re also blessed with the ability to make the necessary repairs immediately. Granted, it did come from the emergency fund, but it was there for a reason and I’m so thankful that we had it. We’re blessed with the means to go ahead and go on our vacation. We are blessed.

Another thing about the tv. This is probably quite silly, but I’m sad to lose it. It was a beautiful 46″ flat-screen. Football season is about to start and we were getting free HD. We were so excited. The best part about our tv is that this was the FIRST thing we had ever PAID CASH for.  What a lesson that things are just things. We’re thankful we’re not making payments on it or anything like that, but it’s sad to see that visual reminder of our commitment to paying cash go away. The only thing we can hope is that the person who took it truly needed the money they will get from selling it. And we pray that whatever is going on in their lives that drove them to this, that it will get better for them. I’m also quite thankful that they were only thieves and not vandals. Family pictures, Braden’s toys, documents with sensitive information sitting on the table by the door… all of these were left alone. I’m thankful they only took the tv.

So here’s to another wordy super long post! I promise there will be crafting and organizing and sewing and DIY coming soon. Today I will be going to my dad’s house to go through mom’s stuff, and Tuesday we leave for the beach. So it may be a while still before I have a good crafty post up here. Thanks for being patient with me people!

Kristi

 

Ps. Heidi and anyone else working on Christmas presents, how’s it going?

About anestinthemaking

Hi! I'm Kristi! I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a friend. I'm a newbie to sewing and blogging, but I'm excited to get started! Sewing is the first hobby I've really had in a long time. In high school, I sang, I played the piano, I played in the band, I wrote in journals. I went off to college, got married, started a family, and lived a life without hobbies. How boring?! Then I started reading blogs. One thing led to another and soon I was at my co-worker's house borrowing her sewing machine! I haven't looked back since! Sewing is a release for me. It's so much fun to create beautiful and useful things. It's fun to be learning something new, and it's fun to share it with you! So welcome! Take a look around, and let me know you're here! I love to meet people and respond to every message I get! And I can't wait to meet you!

Posted on September 2, 2011, in Personal. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Kristi,

    I’m so sad to hear your home was broken in to. That’s so terrible! A couple of weeks ago someone broke into my church and stole 4 very expensive, custom guitars. It’s a scary feeling to know that someone is violating your space.

    I hope you’re able to recover your property. Maybe your insurance will cover the property loss and damage.

    I haven’t made any more head way with Christmas gifts. I’m a teacher and this was the first full week of school. Every night I come home so exhausted. I have just enough energy to cook dinner and load the dish washer. I’m really looking forward to this weekend. School is closed Labor Day so I’m hoping to sleep in and do some knitting. I want to make a serious dent in the baby dress I’m knitting for my niece. It would be awesome to start my second Christmas hat as well.

    Have fun at the beach. You deserve a peaceful vacation!

    ~Heidi

    • Thanks Heidi, we’re really looking forward to it.

      It’s surreal, but it’s been a blessing in disguise and we’ve just been praying for the people who did this. I can’t imagine what it would be like to be in that position, where breaking into someone’s house and stealing something is an option.

      Guess what!? I got knitting needles. I think i did anyway. Actually, if you don’t mind helping me, I might take pictures of what I got and show you when I get back. Basically I got all of the crafty stuff my mom had. Which included a lot of yarn and a bunch of needles that were in with the yarn. I mean a bunch too… like 20ish?

      Which leads me to an exciting announcement (breaking blogger rule here by putting announcement in a comment I suppose). I will be doing a series on cleaning and re-doing the office after all. In fact, we’ve gotten a lot done already, and I can’t wait to finish it up when we get back!

      Talk to you soon!

      ~Kristi

Leave Me Some Love!

