This Post is NOT About Shopping!

This post is not about shopping! I know, I know! I said it would be, but I’m sorry. It’s just not happening. Also, this post is going to be l-o-o-o-o-(o…)-n-g. So you’ve been warned. *love*

I’m a planner. That’s who I am. Now ask if I’m a good planner? Go ahead, say it out loud, it’ll make you giggle!

{I’m waiting}

{Seriously… I’m a patient person…}

No, I am not always good at planning. I like to think I am, but sometimes I have to just go with the flow and see what happens.

First off, we are still making Christmas presents this month. So no more tears! But the schedule I posted earlier this week may not be dead on. For instance, I’m supposed to have my mother’s gift ready and a post done about it on Monday. The problem is, I don’t have that fabric yet. I do, however, have everything to make a set of Christmas Towels. I also have the materials for my mother-in-law’s gift.  I almost have everything for Derek’s sister, but I don’t have anything for Granny or the men-folks. See what I’m getting at? Step one (shopping) has changed my plan completely.

So here’s the new plan:

July 1st – August PoA
July 5th –  post
July 8th – post
July 12th – post
July 15th – post
July 16th – My 25th Birthday! In case anyone wants to send me anything!
July 19th – post
July 22nd – post
July 26th – post
July 31st – Follow Up

That looks much better! And much more workable!

So let’s get started with that first post.

Let’s start with my Christmas list (the people receiving these gifts don’t know I blog so I can speak freely here):

14 Christmas Dish Towels – This is not an original idea, however I will be posting a tutorial. I made a set for a friend as a housewarming gift and just made it up as I went. They turned out well, so I’ll be sharing that with you!
1 Purse – I decided to make this purse for my husband’s sister. I looked at a couple of tutorials here, here and here, and finally decided that this one is right for her.
1 Sunglasses HolderThis sunglasses holder will be made to match the purse. Lisa spends a lot of time outdoors enjoying the great North Carolina weather, and I think a sunglasses holder would be a cute and functional gift for her.
1 Casserole Holder – I loved Jill’s tutorial here. I think this is a practical gift that she will really enjoy and will be put to lots of use with family meals and church potlucks.
2 Grill Utensil Wraps – This is a gift for the men in my life. My dad and Derek’s dad are both getting a kit to keep their grill utensil’s nice.
3 Nesting Boxes – My mother is not in the same place for a long time. I like the idea of giving her functional storage that she can take with her regardless of where she is staying.
1 Table Runner – My mother-in-law always has great Christmas decorations. Her house is done up in golds and maroons and it’s really quite stunning. She does a great tablescape on the dining room table and has a huge tree in the living room. One room that doesn’t get the full attention of her decorating is her breakfast nook. It’s off the kitchen and not something that is seen from the entry. My mother-in-law is getting one of the towel sets I am making, and I thought it would be a fun idea to make her a runner that matches. She can put this on the table in the breakfast nook and bring a little bit of the holiday cheer into her kitchen. I don’t have a plan for this, but I’ll definitely write up a tutorial once I figure it out.

Now let’s look at the good stuff.

{this, this and this}

This is the fabric I picked up for the towels and the table runner. I’m pretty much in love with it.

{this}

And this is the fabric I picked up for the purse (lining not yet chosen).

And that concludes the shopping portion of our program! See, that is why this post is NOT about shopping.

So what’s left to do?

First of all, I’m following fun tutorials for all of my projects, and I want those printed out. So today I spent some quality time at our printer. I still need to find a tutorial for a table runner and a utensil wrap. If I can’t, no biggie. I like winging things and I do have a general idea of what I want to make. I also need to snag back a towel from my friend. I made that up as I went, and I don’t remember how I did it! It turned out so great that I want to make it again. So she graciously agreed to bring one over tomorrow for me to look at. Isn’t she the best?!

I still have quite a lot of shopping to do. I need to get fusible interfacing for the nesting boxes and the purse. I need interior fabric for the purse. I need all of the fabric for the boxes and carrier. I need belting, velcro and insolbrite for the carrier as well. I need to choose my material for the utensil wrap (canvas or tablecloth… I’m not sure yet). After all of that, I just need thread and a few more bobbins. Oh! And towels! I still need to get to Sam’s and get me those towels!

The good news is that I have some coupons so I should be able to get some good deals.

So the goal for the weekend is to collect supplies. I hope to get enough that I can start working on something! Then it’s {sewing} pedal to the metal {carpet}. Yes, I just said that. Feel free to judge!

So what about you? Anyone have any great plans that made absolutely zero sense? Or was that just me?

Kristi

*linking up at*
A Bowl Full of Lemons
52 weeks
Delightful Order
Serenity Now

 

About anestinthemaking

Hi! I'm Kristi! I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a friend. I'm a newbie to sewing and blogging, but I'm excited to get started! Sewing is the first hobby I've really had in a long time. In high school, I sang, I played the piano, I played in the band, I wrote in journals. I went off to college, got married, started a family, and lived a life without hobbies. How boring?! Then I started reading blogs. One thing led to another and soon I was at my co-worker's house borrowing her sewing machine! I haven't looked back since! Sewing is a release for me. It's so much fun to create beautiful and useful things. It's fun to be learning something new, and it's fun to share it with you! So welcome! Take a look around, and let me know you're here! I love to meet people and respond to every message I get! And I can't wait to meet you!

Posted on August 2, 2011, in Christmas in August. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great idea to get started now! I totally need to!

Leave Me Some Love!

