August PoA – Christmas in August

I’m pretty sure everyone has heard of Christmas in July, right? Well, we missed July and I didn’t make any Christmas gifts. Did you? That’s what I thought! So we’re in the same boat now. T minus 5 months(ish) until Christmas and we need a plan!

First of all, if you don’t know what a PoA is, it’s a TLA I learned once in QEP training. Now that I’ve cleared that up, let’s move on. Hehe!

This year, my husband and I decided to make the gifts we will give for Christmas. Thanks to Dave Ramsey, we have been slowly putting aside money to really give to our friends and family this year. I’m excited to challenge myself in both sewing and money management, and see what great gifts we are able to make while staying in our budget.

This year, there are 10 people I will be making gifts for. For the family we have my parents, Derek’s parents and sister, Derek’s Grandma & Grandad. We are also going to give gifts to our childcare provider and my best friend.

So here’s the schedule we’re looking at.

July 1st – August PoA (you are here!)
July 5th – Shopping for Gifts
July 8th – My mother
July 12th – Christmas Towels
July 15th – Mother in Law
July 16th – My 25th Birthday! In case anyone wants to send me anything!
July 19th – Dad and Father in Law
July 22nd – Granny
July 26th – Derek’s Sister
July 31st – Follow Up

You’ll notice I skipped Derek’s Grandad… we’re still trying to figure out what to get him! Any suggestions?

I’d like to make my disclaimer here so that I don’t have to make it every time I write. My family is still going through a rough time. If I am late on a post, it’s coming.  I will try to be as punctual as possible, however family always comes before blog. Thanks for being understanding.

So here we go! Are you planning on joining me to get Christmas done in August? Even if you’re not making your gifts you can get your shopping done early and avoid the hassle! I can’t wait to get started!

Kristi

*linking up at*
A Bowl Full of Lemons
52 weeks
Delightful Order
Serenity Now

About anestinthemaking

Hi! I'm Kristi! I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a friend. I'm a newbie to sewing and blogging, but I'm excited to get started! Sewing is the first hobby I've really had in a long time. In high school, I sang, I played the piano, I played in the band, I wrote in journals. I went off to college, got married, started a family, and lived a life without hobbies. How boring?! Then I started reading blogs. One thing led to another and soon I was at my co-worker's house borrowing her sewing machine! I haven't looked back since! Sewing is a release for me. It's so much fun to create beautiful and useful things. It's fun to be learning something new, and it's fun to share it with you! So welcome! Take a look around, and let me know you're here! I love to meet people and respond to every message I get! And I can't wait to meet you!

Posted on August 1, 2011, in Christmas in August. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hi Kristi,

    I’m up for this challenge too. I just bought some beautiful hand-dyed yarn to knit two hats for Christmas gifts. Woo hoo! Hand made Christmas here we come.

    ~Heidi

  2. Let’s go Heidi! I’ve started my shopping and am going back tonight to get a little more fabric! Then I’ll be ready to go! Have you started your hats yet? I’d love to see them when you’re finished. I don’t know how to knit, but I think it’s an amazing craft!

    ~Kristi

    • Hi Kristi,

      I haven’t officially started Christmas gifts yet because I’m trying to wrap up a birthday hat for October. It’s a pretty simple hat for my uncle. My Christmas hats are going to be way cooler because they are for my sister and friend. Somehow girl stuff is just a tiny bit more fun!

      I just learned how to knit in January. It is so fun!

      ~Heidi

Leave Me Some Love!

