Recipe Storage – What a Boring Title!

What a boring title, yea? Oh well, there just aren’t many witty comments to go with Recipe Organization. Have any? Let me know! I can always use more humor, wit and sarcasm! *love*

Anyway, how are your kitchens coming along? Did anyone get crazy like me and totally re-vamp the work space? How is that working for you? I have to say, I LOVE having my kitchen organized like it is. It does take a bit to get used to, but it’s super convenient!

We’ve talked about organizing the kitchen and creating menu plans, but we haven’t talked at all about how we keep our recipes. I have gone through tons of systems trying to find what I like.

My first love was the cook book. How amazing that there are so many yummy recipes in that nifty little book! But, storage was always an issue for me. I know I have tons of cabinet space now, but I want my recipes to be someplace I’ll see them and think about them.

My second love was the handed-down recipe. These came in by the ones and twos from family members and friends all over. I’d taste something, ask for the recipe, and throw it in “the pile” with the others. These pages are unsightly, unorganized and don’t get used!

So e end up with this pile of crap delicious recipes. In my old hutch, this was the entire bottom drawer, but my new hutch doesn’t have drawers, which necessitates a change.

And here is my solution:

When I try a new recipe and it gets rave reviews (or an “sure that’s fine,” whichever) it goes straight on an index card. If I don’t have time to do it then, I make sure it’s done before I go to bed that night. This way, our newer recipes and the ones that we love are stored where I can find them easily.


I chose index cards because of their convenient size. I haven’t found a recipe that doesn’t fit (yes I write small), and I like that I can store them out of the way. The box (which I admit, needs a makeover) is the perfect size as well. It’s not taking up a lot of space, but it’s easy to find.

{ain’t she a beaut’!)

The other great thing about the cards is actually using them. I have a cook book holder, but the pages still tend to shut when I’m trying to read them. With the little cards, I can clip them on one of my magnet clips and stick it on the range. It’s a little above eye level, out of the way, and exactly where I need it to reference it as I’m cooking!

Moving all of my recipes over to cards is a long process, but I”m taking it one day at a time. As I said, if there is a recipe I make and love, it goes straight on a card. Otherwise, it’s 2 recipes here, 5 recipes there, and slowly the pile will dwindle away.

I know this isn’t the quickest solution, but I think it’s right for our family. And not having a drawer to stash them away under is going to light a fire under my booty to get started!

How do you store your recipes?

Kristi

 

 

*Linking Up At*
A Bowl Full of Lemons
52 weeks
Delightful Order
Serenity Now

About anestinthemaking

Hi! I'm Kristi! I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a friend. I'm a newbie to sewing and blogging, but I'm excited to get started! Sewing is the first hobby I've really had in a long time. In high school, I sang, I played the piano, I played in the band, I wrote in journals. I went off to college, got married, started a family, and lived a life without hobbies. How boring?! Then I started reading blogs. One thing led to another and soon I was at my co-worker's house borrowing her sewing machine! I haven't looked back since! Sewing is a release for me. It's so much fun to create beautiful and useful things. It's fun to be learning something new, and it's fun to share it with you! So welcome! Take a look around, and let me know you're here! I love to meet people and respond to every message I get! And I can't wait to meet you!

Posted on July 24, 2011, in kitchen, organize. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. i have a lovely book for recipies, i love it 🙂

    • I had a recipe book for a while, but it didn’t work out for me. I’m a bit of a neat freak, and when the pages would get a tiny bit dirty I’d spaz! haha!

  1. Pingback: July PoA – Let’s Tackle that Kitchen! | A Nest in the Making

Leave Me Some Love!

