Priorities?

Wee! Here I go again! Changing my mind! I started this blog to be about sewing. Well, let me rephrase that. I started this blog on WordPress to be about sewing (the blog on Blogger was about? everything?). But lately I haven’t been sewing. I’d like to, but my mind is wandering in different directions.

I like to say I have ADD brain. No, that’s not the same thing as Attention-Deficit-Disorder. It’s more a product of being a happy person who likes to jump around a lot. I guess you could say I’m fickle, but I”m not a huge fan of that word. It reminds me of pickles. Which is just weird to me.

Anyway, lets take a second to throw the WordPress tutorial out the window. Let’s face it, I haven’t completed one new sewing project since saying that sewing is my passion. *sheepish grin* So what do I like?

Sewing –
Yes, I do still like it. I want to be able to sew gifts for family and friends. In fact, my husband and I sat down and came up with a list of Christmas gifts for people. So now I can get started! I’m super excited to do this!
I also want to be able to sew things for my house. I’m in the middle of making curtains for my office and I really love the way they’re turning out. I like the pillows I’ve made.
I like the idea that I don’t have to go out and buy things for super expensive – or even watch sales like a hawk. If I want something, I can make it. Sewing is a big part of that DIY spirit I have.

Cooking –
I go back and forth on meal plans more often than Michael Phelps goes back and forth in the pool. Seriously! I want to try it but I’m scared. I see the merits of planning in other people’s lives, but for some reason I think I’m different. I’m the one person, in this whole wide world, who can not benefit from planning meals. Yep, I’m sure of it.
I do enjoy cooking though. I enjoy experimenting on meals, and baking desserts. I want my son to learn to cook with me (when he’s a little older).

Intentional Living/Frugality –
This is a made-up topic that covers a few things I couldn’t categorize well. Last night I spent hours preserving vegetables. I’m a member of a grocery co-op and every 8(ish) weeks I get a huge box of food. We get fruits and veggies of all sorts. I’m learning to cope with huge amounts of perishable food coming in to my home. I have to do something with it so that it doesn’t go bad. I don’t want to waste the food or the money spent on the food. I need to be intentional about my groceries.
I also consider myself quite frugal (or at least getting there). I coupon shop. I am learning to preserve food. I am learning to sew so I can make things myself. I enjoy bulk trash pickup week. I like Goodwill shopping.

Organizing –
This one is big for me. I LOVE organizing. I love having things organized. I think that an organized home runs so much more efficiently. When I know where things are, and don’t waste precious time searching, I’m able to spend more time with my family.
I believe an organized house is easier to keep clean than a cluttered house. I believe it’s easier to organize when you have less of the “stuff” and more of the “stuff you love.” I’m a declutterer and a purger (not in the eating-disorder way).

Home decor –
This isn’t as big, but it’s something I would enjoy getting more in to. I would love to have a gorgeous, well-organized, lived in home. I’m slowly getting there.

Home Management –
This about sums it up. The things that are important to me are my family and my home – and my home is really only important because it is a blessing to my family. By association, cooking, cleaning, organizing, and decorating are important. Frugality and being intentional with my time/money fall in to place there as well.

So what does this mean to you? More changes! Wee!

I want this blog to reflect me. Lately, I’ve been in more of a cleaning/organizing mood than a sewing mood. I haven’t posted anything because this is a sewing blog. But I’m starting to think that’s silly. This blog isn’t about one thing or another, it’s about me. This is a Kristi blog. And Kristi jumps around (and apparently talks in third person occasionally).

Kristi

About anestinthemaking

Hi! I'm Kristi! I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a friend. I'm a newbie to sewing and blogging, but I'm excited to get started! Sewing is the first hobby I've really had in a long time. In high school, I sang, I played the piano, I played in the band, I wrote in journals. I went off to college, got married, started a family, and lived a life without hobbies. How boring?! Then I started reading blogs. One thing led to another and soon I was at my co-worker's house borrowing her sewing machine! I haven't looked back since! Sewing is a release for me. It's so much fun to create beautiful and useful things. It's fun to be learning something new, and it's fun to share it with you! So welcome! Take a look around, and let me know you're here! I love to meet people and respond to every message I get! And I can't wait to meet you!

Posted on June 29, 2011, in maintenance, Personal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave Me Some Love!

