Me and My Husband, We Need a Wife!

Well, the wonderful world of sewing has come to an abrupt halt. Where did all of my free time go? As an example, lets look at yesterday, shall we?

I got off work at 5pm (2 hours early).
I was home by 5:30pm.
We saw ants along the back door so we sprayed them with poison.
We went and ran a mile.
Derek left to pick up the little man.
I mopped up where we had sprayed the poison and vacuumed the dead ants up.
Derek and little dude got home and I wasn’t quite done.
I finished vacuuming the living room.
Derek made dinner for Braden while I moved the laundry to the drier.
Derek fed Braden while I took a shower (from running and being ew).
At this point, it’s about 7pm, which means it’s little man’s bed time.
After putting him down, I started dinner.
I made mayonnaise (don’t ask…) for my pasta salad.
At 8:15 we sat down to dinner.
After dinner we straightened up a little bit (little dude tends to make a mess).
Then it was time to put up the clean laundry and start the dishes.
Then it was 9:15 and time to get ready for bed.
Then it was 9:30 and time to read the bible.
Then it was 10 and lights out.

So when am I supposed to sew? *lol* There’s a song by Rebecca Lynn Howard that goes “I need a vacation from my life! Me and my husband, we need a wife – somebody who’s sole ambition is laundry!” And I have to say, I agree!

I admit, I could have gotten up early to sew. Typically we get up at 6am to go run, but yesterday it was pouring so we decided not to go and went back to bed for a bit. I could’ve gotten up then to sew. This morning we didn’t run because we have been out of power (for almost 12 hours now) and I didn’t want to go to work with wet hair after I took a cold dark shower. Not taht I could’ve sewn this morning – thank you TXU. I don’t want my sewing time to be contingient on me not getting to run. *lol* I’ll have to figure something out and I’m sure I will. Maybe I’ll brew a pot of coffee when Derek goes to bed at 10 and get up AFTER my bible reading to play seamstress. It’s a thought!

So I’m here, and life is good. I’m just not getting to sew much lately. But fear not! There are sewing plans in my future!
                A friend of mine is getting married and I plan to make this casserole carrier for her as a wedding gift.
                I need to make a mug-rug for work and I want to make one for my co-worker too.
                My co-worker is having a baby and I need to start on gifts for her.
                I want to start Christmas gifts (yes this early).
                I want to learn to quilt (I know, such a small thing to put on my to-do list).
Plus I’m getting some fabric from a friend at church and apparently there’s a lot. New fabric always makes me happy and ready to sew again.

About anestinthemaking

Hi! I'm Kristi! I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a friend. I'm a newbie to sewing and blogging, but I'm excited to get started! Sewing is the first hobby I've really had in a long time. In high school, I sang, I played the piano, I played in the band, I wrote in journals. I went off to college, got married, started a family, and lived a life without hobbies. How boring?! Then I started reading blogs. One thing led to another and soon I was at my co-worker's house borrowing her sewing machine! I haven't looked back since! Sewing is a release for me. It's so much fun to create beautiful and useful things. It's fun to be learning something new, and it's fun to share it with you! So welcome! Take a look around, and let me know you're here! I love to meet people and respond to every message I get! And I can't wait to meet you!

Posted on June 22, 2011, in Personal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave Me Some Love!

