Moving Day

Phew! I am all over the place today! My mavericks won last night. I’m not sure, you may be living under a rock and didn’t know, so I thought I’d tell you. I cried. I didn’t break down in a sobbing fit, but I definitely teared up. This has been a long time coming and the guys deserve it so much. It’s like we knew we could do it, but we were all too scared to believe it would happen. And we won!

Anyway, this isn’t about the maverick. This is about me setting up my new blog. The right way. The way that involves thought and planning and all that weird stuff.

 So this morning I’m packing my bloggy-boxes and getting ready to go. There are 37 posts on my old blog (not counting any Verse of the Week or Fill in the Blank type things, which will not be moved). I didn’t realize I had so many. It’s hard deciding what will be moved and what will just disappear. I chose not to move any re-posts of people’s parties. I may join in with those at some point, but they really have nothing to do with the new direction of my blog – or any direction of my blog. We’ll call them filler, and I don’t need filler right now.

There’s an evolution to A Nest. I started talking about life. My first post touches on family, finances, religion, and home renovation. I quickly moved on to DIY and home decor (although my posting was very sporadic). In January I took the plunge and added home organization to my home decor. I disappeared for a few months, and in March I began talking about home management. Decor, money, time management, meal planning, etc. I also kept a log of my weekend goals, and then a follow up post to see if I was reaching my goals. I disappeared again for April and it was during this break that I discovered sewing. At the beginning of May, I began to write about sewing projects. I have written about sewing, with a little dash of every-day life, since then.

The question is, what belongs in this blog? All of this is who I am, but it is not all relevant to where I’m going. I don’t want to lose my old posts, but at the same time does it really matter whether I completed my to-do list back on March 20th?

I know this entry is long-winded, but this is how my brain works. I’m typing it out instead of just thinking it out. I’m giving you a (probably too detailed) insight into how my mind works. I’m thinking I will cut out the to-do posts and the recap posts, at least before I began sewing. Organization, home decor, meal planning… it’s not that these aren’t a part of my life anymore. A Nest is going to be a sewing blog (at least for now! lol!) but these posts are still about me.

My plan is to post a few old tutorials every week until I am ready to start my new content. I think, instead of devoting an entire day to each posts (like I will with my sewing projects), I will post these in batches. So there will still be exciting sewing content, but I’ll get to keep the posts that (while not relevant) mean something to me.

So after weeding out those posts I’m down to moving 28 posts. 12 of those will be batch posted just for me to have on hand. The rest will be posted every few days until we’re all happy and moved. Stay tuned for more riveting glimpses into my brain on crack creating a new blog.

          Kristi

 

Edit: So Much Fail! I, apparently, am not very good at WordPress yet. Instead of bringing over one entry at a time I accidentally imported my entire blog. So now I have gone back and deleted what I didn’t want to bring over here. So much for the “few a day” approach! haha!

About anestinthemaking

Hi! I'm Kristi! I'm a mom, a wife, a daughter, a friend. I'm a newbie to sewing and blogging, but I'm excited to get started! Sewing is the first hobby I've really had in a long time. In high school, I sang, I played the piano, I played in the band, I wrote in journals. I went off to college, got married, started a family, and lived a life without hobbies. How boring?! Then I started reading blogs. One thing led to another and soon I was at my co-worker's house borrowing her sewing machine! I haven't looked back since! Sewing is a release for me. It's so much fun to create beautiful and useful things. It's fun to be learning something new, and it's fun to share it with you! So welcome! Take a look around, and let me know you're here! I love to meet people and respond to every message I get! And I can't wait to meet you!

Posted on June 14, 2011, in maintenance. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave Me Some Love!

